这座房子多年来经历了许多变化,在2011年被现任业主希瑟和斯文•伯杰(Heather和Sven Berger)买下,并且从2011年开始效仿昔日辉煌的哥特复兴式建筑风格,精心修复了这座建筑的 外观和内饰。

这次修复是一个家庭项目,希瑟和斯文和他们儿女仔细地研究了建筑历史、建筑特征、材料和建 造技术,从而他们对建筑物的结构有了一定的了解。

他们利用无数个夜晚和周末在家里做调研,寻找建筑材料和哥特式风格的装饰,以确保这个哥特 复兴风格的建筑从逝去的时代被重新建造。有些装饰材料无法获取,他们就会借用独特的建造工 艺技术来代替。

由于这是个家庭项目,其修复的各个方面工作和每一个小细节都被放在餐桌上仔细审查。

这种对修复工作的爱,加强了家庭成员的情感纽带,并实现了修复工作这六年的承诺。

为了确保建筑的完整性,所用的建筑材料和装饰风格都与建筑原始的哥特式风格保持一致。

一个耗时费力的问题是,如何能做到把现代奢华的舒适感和科技应用结合在一起的同时,确保哥 特式建筑风格的完整性呢?为了回答这个问题,我们建议您来住上一两个晚上,或者举行一场小 型私密的婚礼,或者重温您的婚礼誓言。

若您有兴趣了解,室内是哥特式复兴的设计风格。哥特风格起源于12世纪上半叶法国北部的法 兰西岛地区。在这座建筑中,哥特式复兴建筑的标志有三个基本特征:尖拱,罗纹拱顶和彩色玻 璃窗。

Benjamin Mountfort是新西兰的英国移民,成为该国最著名的19世纪建筑师之一。在他的影响 下,哥特复兴风格被引入新西兰,他用木头和石头设计了哥特复兴教堂。坎特伯雷的弗雷德里 克·撒切尔也设计了哥特式复兴风格的木制教堂。可惜的是,在2010年和2011年的坎特伯雷地 震之后,许多教堂被摧毁了,现在只能在一些社区的照片中看到它们原本的样子。 圣泰塔普提供给您一个千载难逢的机会来见证这个哥特式室内装饰的华丽与辉煌。

This building had undergone many changes over the years but was just a shell when the current owners Heather and Sven Berger bought it in 2001, and who have lovingly restored the exterior and interior of this consequential building to emulate its former glory as a showcase for gothic revival architecture from 2011 onwards.

This restoration was a family project, Heather and Sven together with their sons and daughter, carefully researched the history of the building, architectural features, materials and techniques used, so they were able to have an appreciation of what and the way the building was constructed.

Many evenings and weekends were spent by the family investigating where they could acquire the materials and gothic design features to ensure the integrity of this gothic revival styled building from a bygone era were re-created and if the features could not be sourced how would they recreate them using their trade skills and ingenuity.

Every aspect of the restoration, down to the smallest detail was scrutinised over the dinner table as this was a family project.

This labour of restoration love has strengthened the family bonds and stands as a testament to the commitment over the six year period of the restoration.

Great care has been taken to ensure architectural integrity, with all materials and decorative features in keeping with the Gothic style of the original building.

One time-consuming issue was how do you incorporate what are classed as modern luxury comforts and technology without losing the integrity of a beautifully restored gothic style building. To answer that we recommend you come and stay with us for a night or two or otherwise have a small intimate wedding or renew your wedding vows.

For your interest, the interior is classed as gothic revival style. The Gothic style originated in the Ile-de-France region of northern France in the first half of the 12th century. There are three essential features which are the hallmarks of gothic revival architecture in this building the pointed arch, the ribbed vault, and stained glass windows.

Benjamin Mountfort, an English emigrant to New Zealand, became one of that country’s most prominent 19th-century architects. He was instrumental in shaping the city of Christchurch’s unique architectural identity and culture, under his influence the Gothic Revival style was introduced to New Zealand, and he designed Gothic Revival churches in both wood and stone. Frederick Thatcher also of Canterbury designed wooden churches in the Gothic Revival style. Sadly post the 2010 and 2011 Canterbury earthquake sequence many of these churches were destroyed and now only stand as testaments to their integral parts in the community in photographs.

Saints provide both a rare and unique opportunity to appreciate the beauty and splendour of a faithfully restored interior executed in the true gothic revival style.